C h r i s t i a n i t y      
    A long term walk with Jesus

The Christian Calendar

Complete Calendar for 2013
Complete Calendar for 2014

: The four weeks before Christmas are a preparation time for the celebration of the Nativity of Jesus. The color purple symbolizes penitence and a readiness to learn. The first Sunday of Advent is the Christian New Years Day.  December 2 to 24, 2012.

: (Nativity of the Lord) Remembrance of the birth of Jesus Christ, the coming of Creator God into the midst of the human family. The colors of gold and white symbolize a festival time. December 25, 2012 to January 5, 2013
   The Twelve Days of Christmas - Web site of interest

January 6 to March 30, the beginning of Lent, is a time for celebrating the world wide (including space travel) nature of the Christian Way. Epiphany immediately follows Christmastide and its recollection of the birth of Jesus.  The Biblical basis for Epiphany is in the Gospel of Matthew, chapter 2, verses 1-11. It is the story of the visit of scholars from a distant land to honor a new born child who would be important to the whole human race. Epiphany is a time for expanding the vision of Christian people. The aim is to be open to people of all cultures, races, and religions. Epiphany is a welcome to every human being on the earth. The colors used are white, gold and green. 
January 6 to February 12, 2013   Web site of interest

Lent:  February 13 to March 30, 2013
This 40 day event is a time of fasting in imitation of Jesus' experience in the wilderness of temptation. The story is in the Gospel of Matthew 4:1-11  It is a time of preparation for Easter and  of repentance by people. Rules for fasting in some bodies of the Faith are less strict than at one time. Self examination, control of appetites, and spiritual devotion are obligations for many Christians in all world cultures during Lent. Conscious attention to the tragic evils in the human family is encouraged. Colors frequently used are purple, ash gray, and red. The length of Lent varies among traditions. For Roman Catholics Lent ends on Holy Thursday before Easter. For some other Christians Lent ends on Holy Saturday. And for others Lent concludes the Saturday before Palm Sunday. 
Alternate dates: February 13 to March 23, 2013 Holy Week is counted separately.

Holy Week: March 24 to March 30, 2013 The days between Palm Sunday and Holy Saturday before Easter are known as Holy Week. These days observe the events in the life of Jesus from the entry into Jerusalem through the crucifixion and burial. Palm Sunday is sometimes called Passion Sunday because of the tragic events of the week to come. The primary observances of Holy Week are:

Maundy Thursday (instruction of the Eucharist of Lord's Supper); Good Friday (the passion and death of Jesus); and Holy Saturday (the burial of Jesus). 

Easter Sunday

Sunday:  March 31, 2013  The principal and most ancient festival of the Christian church year is Easter.
Following the death and burial of Jesus, there was a renewal of the very life of Jesus Christ in the fellowship of believers in the early Church. Several schools of thought in the Christian Church explain the nature of what has come to be known as the "Resurrection of Christ". Some believe in a literal rising up of the body of Jesus that had died three days earlier. Others understand the memory and personal experience of Jesus to have been so vivid and strong that the followers physically and mentally experienced the renewed presence of Jesus. Yet others believe that the continuing life of the Christian Church is an adequate proof of the ongoing reality of Christ being alive. In any event, the resurrection is a central feature of the Christian religion. Eastertide is the season continuing through Pentecost.  Each Sunday is a weekly celebration of the resurrection of Christ. 
 Easter Season: March 31 to
May 18, 2013

May 19, 2013
 Season after Pentecost  May 19 - November 30, 2013
This celebration of the coming of the Holy Spirit to a gathering of believers shortly after the resurrection and ascension of Jesus is a major observance for the Christian way . The fes
tival is observed 50 days after Easter. The day takes place on the Jewish day of Pentecost, thanksgiving for the first fruits of the wheat harvest. For Christians, the experience of the energy of the Spirit was a "first fruit" of the new era that had dawned for the believers. In some parts of the Church, Pentecost is a special time for baptism of new believers. Throughout the Church, Pentecost is when the surprising vital energy of the presence of Creator God influences worship and challenges people to new life in Christ. In all nations and in all times the discovery of life changing spiritual vision cannot be predicted or contained. Pentecost guarantees an open mind to the future. Pentecost begins on Sunday and continues through Saturday, May 25, 2013.


Season After Pentecost  May 26 to November 30, 2013

Trinity Sunday: May 26, 2013

Beginning on Trinity Sunday, May 26, 2013 and continuing through the day before the first Sunday of Advent, this season celebrates the growing life of the fellowship of Christians in the world of persons, nations and the natural world. Various events, including the Transfiguration of Jesus, Holy Cross, World Communion Sunday, All Hallows Eve, Christ the King are remembrances of unique Christian experiences over the centuries.  Trinity Sunday is a reminder of the ways in which Christians experience God. The color green symbolizes growth. 

"Salt of the Earth" is an example of printed calendars of the Christian year. The intention is to help believers to reclaim the sense of sacred time. The calendar can be obtained from the University Hill Congregation in Vancouver, BC, Canada. Go to the congregation website for further instruction.

For a  calendar of all major Christian sacred days going through 2021 go to www.interfaithcalendar.org 

Send comments on calendar!

Return to Christianity Site home page 
Update on April 12, 2013        2001- 2013